Sharing information on the Inaugural Council Meeting (as found in the recent press release from the Township of Springwater).  Thank you to all who attended this event and to the Township staff that organized it.  It was a great event and I am certainly looking forward to seeing what the future holds as we move forward! Scroll down to see a few more candid shots taken of the event.

Township of Springwater / December 5, 2018 – The Township of Springwater’s newly elected Council held its inaugural meeting tonight at the Elmvale Community Hall.

Mayor Don Allen, Deputy Mayor Jennifer Coughlin and the Township’s five Councillors were officially sworn in by Justice Robert Gattrell for the 2018-2022 Council term.


Pictured L to R: Ward 2 Councillor Perry Ritchie, Ward 4 Councillor Anita Moore, Mayor Don Allen, Ward 1 Councillor George Cabral, Deputy Mayor Jennifer Coughlin and Ward 3 Councillor Wanda MawChapman. Not pictured: Ward 5 Councillor Jack Hanna.
The ceremony took place before a large group of supporters, family and friends. Mayor Allen was joined by members of his new council which included two incumbents—
Deputy Mayor Jennifer Coughlin and Ward 2 Councillor Perry Ritchie—and three new Councillors—Ward 1 Councillor George Cabral, Ward 3 Councillor Wanda MawChapman and Ward 4 Councillor Anita Moore. Incumbent Ward 5 Councillor Jack Hanna was unable to attend the ceremony.

In Mayor Allen’s Inaugural Council address, he spoke about his future vision for the Township and how he plans to move Springwater forward.
“Development will be a common theme in Springwater over the next four years,” said Mayor Allen in reference to the Township’s residential, commercial and community growth. “Overarching this will be matters that need to be addressed on a Township-wide basis, such as completing our Springwater Official Plan update, policing, traffic calming, recreational vehicles, seniors’ accommodation, cannabis regulation implementation and many more.”
“Being proactive rather than reactive, having good communication and working as a team will lead to the best results,” added Mayor Allen. “This applies at the Township level and also with Simcoe County staff and Councillors. We will endeavour to work more closely with other municipalities and government agencies to share best practices, ideas and synergies.”
Other members of Council expressed their own sentiments and aspirations for the coming years and thanked their family and friends for their support. Mayor Allen and Deputy Mayor Coughlin will officially be sworn into Simcoe County Council on December 11, 2018 at 1:00 p.m. The next regular Council meeting is meeting is scheduled for December 12, 2018 at 6:30 p.m. in the Council Chamber at the Township Administration Centre.

More official photos to follow, here is just a small snapshot collage of the event.